60 Years Peacekeeping1958 - 2018

This year marks the 60th Anniversary of Ireland's first Peacekeeping deployment in 1958.

Since then, Ireland have maintained the longest unbroken service on the front line of peace with over 70,000 individual tours of duty completed by the men and women of Óglaigh na hÉireann.

This year, we remember the 87 members of the Defence Forces who have made the ultimate sacrifice in the service of Peace.

Read more about Our Overseas Service >>

60 Years Peacekeeping1958 - 2018> Read More

Army Reserve

The Army Reserve is the land component of the Reserve Defence Forces. It is the second line reserve of the Army. It has a current establishment of 3,839 personnel of all ranks.

  • 1 Brigade, comprising the province of Munster, as well as the counties of Kilkenny, Wexford, Carlow and Laois, Offaly, Galway, Limerick, Waterford, Cork, Tipperary, Kerry, Clare.
  • 2  Brigade, comprising the counties of Wicklow, Kildare, Dublin, Meath, Louth and Monaghan., Westmeath, Longford, Roscommon, Sligo, Leitrim, Cavan, Mayo and Donegal

Army Reserve elements form part of a PDF unit, as part of the single force concept.

In addition to the Brigade areas, the Defence Forces maintains the Defence Forces Training Centre (DFTC) at the Curragh Camp in which the Reserve Defence Forces train alongside their PDF comrades. 

There are eight Army Reserve Corps:

  • The Infantry Corps
  • Artillery Corps
  • Cavalry Corps
  • Engineer Corps
  • CIS Corps
  • Transport Corps
  • Military Police Corps
  • Medical Corps

Each Corps has a designated military task, the specialised nature of which offers the Reservist the opportunity in a particular sphere.

Read more about the Corps of the Army

The Army Reserve has at its disposal a wide range of modern equipment and weaponry ranging from modern military communications systems, to the personal weapon of the Irish Reservist - the 5.56mm Steyr rifle.


Read more about Defence Forces Weapons