Specialist Units

The Naval Service has several specialist units that perform essential roles within the Naval Service. These specialist roles are often mentioned in the media, but never directly.

Naval Service Diving Section

The Naval Service Diving Section (NSDS) has been in existence since the late 1960s. From humble beginnings as an internal diving team for the ships in the fleet, it has evolved into the primary State diving team, carrying out many varied tasks for a number of State Agencies

Read more about the rigorous life of a Naval Service Diver

Fisheries Monitoring Centre

The Fisheries Monitoring Centre (FMC) at Naval Base Haulbowline, is the designated National centre with responsibility for satellite monitoring of all fishing activity in Irish  Exclusive Fisheries Limits (EFL).

Read more about the role The Naval Service Fisheries  Monitoring Centre

Find out more about Naval Service Training