The Fleet

The fleet comprises one Helicopter Patrol Vessel (HPV), three Offshore Patrol Vessels (OPV), two Large Patrol Vessel (LPV) and two Coastal Patrol Vessels (CPV). Each vessel is equipped with state of the art machinery, weapons, communication’s and navigation systems.   The Flagship of the Irish Naval Service is the L.É. Eithne which a HPV.  

The NS Fleet keeps the tradition of naming its vessels after famous women from Irish and Celtic mythology. Currently the Naval Service operates eight ships. 

  • L.É. EITHNE  P 31
  • L.É AOIFE  P 22
  • L.É. AÍSLING  P 23
  • L.É. NIAMH P 52
  • L.É. RÓISÍN P 51
  • L.É. ORLA P 41
  • L.É. C͍ARA P 42

The L.É. before the ships names means Long Éireannach or Irish Ship.

Flash is required!


Read more about the Naval Service