Military Medal for Gallantry (MMG)

Information About the Medal

In 1944 a medal to be known as “An Bonn Míleata Calmachta” or, in English, “The Military Medal for Gallantry” was introduced. This medal may be awarded to officers, non-commissioned officers and privates of the Defence Forces and to members of the Army Nursing and Chaplaincy Services in recognition of the performance of any act of exceptional bravery or gallantry (other than one performed on war service) arising out of, or associated with, military service and involving risk to life and limb.

Classes of Award

The medal may be awarded in the following classes:-

  1. With Honour;
  2. With Distinction;
  3. With Merit.

Bar to Medal

The medal in any one of the classes shall not be awarded more than once to any one person but, for each succeeding act sufficient to justify a further award in the same class, a bar to the medal in that class shall be awarded.

The Military Medal for Gallantry with Honour

The Military Medal for Gallantry with Distinction

The Military Medal for Gallantry with Merit

Recipients of the Medal

Rank Name Mission Class
Tpr Anthony Brown Congo - ONUC Distinction
Capt Adrian Ainsworth Lebanon - UNIFIL Distinction
Lt Anthony Bracken Lebanon - UNIFIL Distinction
Cpl Michael Jones Lebanon - UNIFIL Distinction
Pte Michael John Daly Lebanon - UNIFIL Distinction
Comdt  Michael Lynch Lebanon - UNIFIL Distinction
Pte Paul Coventry Lebanon - UNIFIL Merit
Pte Thomas Metcalfe Ireland Merit

The Badge Design

The Badge design (common to all Corps and Services and all orders of dress) is derived from the badge of the Irish Volunteers and was designed by Professor Eoin MacNeill, Chairman of the National Executive of the Irish Volunteers. This badge was originally adopted by the Irish Volunteers in October 1914. [Read more]