Skip to main content

2 Brigade

2 Brigade

The 2 Brigade is an all arms Brigade consisting of combat, combat support and combat service support elements. Such elements include units of Infantry, Artillery Cavalry, Engineers, Communications and Transport. These units are spread throughout the Brigades' designated area of territorial responsibility.

Area of Territorial Responsibility

The 2nd Brigade is responsible for military operations in the northern of the country. Its area of responsibility includes the counties of Wicklow, Dublin, Louth, Kildare, Longford, , Meath, Westmeath, Roscommon, Cavan, Monaghan, Donegal, Sligo, Leitrim & Mayo. The Brigade Headquarters is located in Cathal Brugha Barracks, Dublin.

Within the 2nd Brigades area of responsibility are situated various vital installations including;

  • Government buildings
  • Áras Uachtarán na hÉireann (Residence of the President)
  • Foreign Embassies
  • Dublin airport
  • Dublin Docks
  • Knock airport

The Brigade has at times assisted the civil powers by providing security at these locations when requested.


When not involved in operations personnel are in constant training to maintain current skills, become proficient with new equipment and in particular to be able to adapt to a constantly changing environment.

Brigade training takes place all year round and covers;

  • Conventional Military Operations
  • Overseas Missions
  • Aid To Civil Power

There are several training areas within the Brigade area:

  • Gormanston Camp
  • Kilbride Camp
  • Glen of Imaal

Meet the General Officer Commanding 2 Brigade