RecruitmentGeneral Service

The Defence Forces is now accepting applications for General Service in both the Army and Naval Service.

Army applicants must be at least 18 years old and under the age of 25 years of age on the closing date for applications.

Naval Service applicants must be at least 18 years old and under the age of 27 years of age on the closing date for applications.

Both Competitions will close on Sunday 29th April 2018.

View the NEW Increased Pay Rates >>



Military CareersGeneral Service Recruitment> Read More

Professional Reading Programme

The Infantry School conducts a wide variety of courses aimed at the professional development of the Officers, NCOs and soldiers of the Infantry Corps and the Defence Forces generally. In addition to the conduct of and attendance of professional courses it is widely accepted that the development of an interest in 'professional reading' can also help enhance the military knowledge of all personnel. The benefits derived from an interest in 'professional reading' include.

  • The development of the professional knowledge of the individual.
  • The improvement of the level of general knowledge in military current affairs and developments.
  • An increased appreciation of military history.
  • An increase in the understanding of military operations / activities that the Defence Forces does not conduct regularly.
  • A greater understanding of the ethos of various military organizations.
  • The development of sources of information that will assist in preparatory study and research in advance of career courses.

It is hoped that the books recommended contain some thought provoking ideas that in addition to developing the reader's knowledge will aid them in developing their leadership and military skills. The inclusion of a book does not imply that the Defence Forces endorses the author's views or interpretations. The list of books that is presented is not a definitive one, and will be reviewed periodically at the direction of The Commandant, The Infantry School.

The programme has been divided into a number of categories in order to help the reader to concentrate on areas of specific interest to them. These categories are:

  • History of the Irish Soldier.
  • World War I.
  • World War II.
  • Campaigns Studied in the Infantry School.
  • Leaders and Leadership.
  • Counterinsurgency.
  • The American Civil War.
  • Specialist Areas.
  • Miscellaneous.

As well as being designed for professional lilitary reading generally this programme is also weighted towards the 'History of the Irish Soldier' in various circumstances so that a greater awareness of the varied military traditions of Ireland and the Irish can be appreciated.


Find out more about the Reading Programme