Ceremonial Military GuardThe National Monument

A Ceremonial Military Guard will parade at the site of the ‘National Memorial to Members of the Defence Forces who died in the Service of the State’, at Merrion Square park, Dublin during July and August.

Ceremonies will take place at Merrion Square Park, every Saturday from 16th July to Saturday 20th August 2016.

Units from throughout the Defence Forces, across the Army, Air Corps and Naval Service will participate in this Military Guard Ceremony in solemn remembrance of their fallen comrades.

The ceremony will last approximately one hour.


Ceremonial MIlitary GuardThe National Monument> Read More


The Army is organised on conventional military lines providing a sufficiently flexible structure to carry out all the roles assigned by Government.  The Army is a standing force and provides the primary capabilities for joint military operations at home and combined military Peace Support Operations abroad.


The Army Brigades

1st Brigade

The 1st Brigade is responsible for military operations in the southern region of the country.

Its area of responsibility includes the counties of:

Carlow, Laois, Offaly, Kilkenny, Wexford, Waterford, Cork, Kerry, Limerick Clare, Tipperary and Galway.

HQ of the 1st Brigade (Bde) is located in Collins Barracks, Cork. The other Barracks located in the 1st Brigade area of responsibility (AOR) include:

  • Collins Barracks in Cork
  • Sarsfield Barracks in Limerick
  • Stephens Barracks in Kilkenny
  • Kilworth Training Camp in Kilworth
  • Dún Ui Mhaoilíosa, Galway

2nd Brigade

The 2nd Brigade is responsible for military operations in the northern region of the country. Its area of responsibility includes the counties of:

Wicklow, Dublin, Louth, Kildare, Longford, , Meath, Westmeath, Roscommon, Cavan, Monaghan, Donegal, Sligo, Leitrim & Mayo.

HQ of the 2nd Brigade is located in Cathal Brugha Barracks in Rathmines, Dublin. The other Barracks located in the 2nd Brigade area of responsibility (AOR) include: 

  • McKee Barracks , Dublin 7
  • St Bricins Hospital, Dublin
  • Gormanstown Camp in Co Meath
  • Aiken Barracks, Dundalk
  • Custume Barracks, Athlone
  • Finner Camp in Ballyshannon

Defence Forces Training Centre

The Defence Forces Training Centre (DFTC) is located in The Curragh Camp in Co Kildare. The DFTC consists of a HQ element and all Defence Forces training, education and logistical units.

The following Defence Forces 'Reserve' Units are also located in the DFTC:

  • 1 Mechanised Infantry Company
  • 1st Armoured Cavalry Squadron 
  • The Army Ranger Wing (ARW)

Read more about the Defence Forces Training Centre

The Army consists of the following Corps:

  • Infantry
  • Cavalry
  • Artillery
  • Communications and Services (CIS)
  • Engineers
  • Ordnance
  • Medical
  • Transport
  • Military Police

Read more about the different Army Corps 

Do you want to join the Army?