RecruitmentGeneral Service

The Defence Forces is now accepting applications for General Service in both the Army and Naval Service.

Army applicants must be at least 18 years old and under the age of 25 years of age on the closing date for applications.

Naval Service applicants must be at least 18 years old and under the age of 27 years of age on the closing date for applications.

Both Competitions will close on Sunday 22nd April 2018.

VIEW THE NEW Pay Rates >>



Military CareersGeneral Service Recruitment> Read More

Air Corps College

The Air Corps College is main training unit within the Air Corps. The college is sub divided into three separate schools, Flying Training School (FTS), Technical Training School (TTS) and Military Training & Survival School (MTSS), each fulfilling its own specific training role.

The Flying Training School (FTS)

The Flying Training School (FTS) is the squadron within the Air Corps responsible for the training and education of all Air Corps cadets.

The school’s primary role is to conduct initial flying and officer training for cadets.

The Technical Training School (TTS)

The training of Aircraft Mechanics has been conducted in Casement Aerodrome, Baldonnel since April 1922. A growing requirement for highly trained aircraft technicians to maintain its expanding fleet brought about the opening of the Apprentice School in the air base.

The Military Training & Survival School (MTSS)

The mission of the Military Training and Survival School (MTSS) is to provide the highest standards of military training to meet the operational requirements of the Air Corps.  The MTSS is responsible for the military training of all new recruits and apprentices as well as conducting any career courses.

For more information on the Air Corps College go to Education HQ


Tuesday 17th April 2018 - Defence Forces Conduct MRE

, 2.00pm.- Defence Forces Conduct Mission Readiness Exercise in Preparation for UNIFIL (Lebanon) Deployment[more]

Monday 12th April 2018 - 90th Anniversary Ceremony

3.00pm - 90th Anniversary Ceremony of the First East - West Flight Across the Atlantic Ocean in Baldonnel Aerodrome[more]